The Atlantic recording group recently announced details of a major North American summer tour following a string of performances all through Europe. The group consists of Ben Gibbard on guitars, keyboards and vocals, Chris Walla on guitars and keyboards, Nick Harmer on bass and Jason McGerr on drums. Death Cab for Cutie released four of seven albums from 1998 to 2003 before signing with major recording giant Atlantic Records. Those albums included Something About Airplanes in 1998, We Have the Facts And We're Voting Yes in 2000, The Photo Album in 2001 and Transatlanticism in 2003. 

Their latest hit single “Underneath the Sycamore” is among the many highlights of Death Cab for Cutie's critically acclaimed album, Codes and Keys which has been nominated in the “Best Alternative Music Album” category at this year’s Grammy Awards. “You Are A Tourist,” the album’s first single, proved a multi-format radio smash upon its release last year, reaching #1 at both Triple A and Modern Rock outlets nationwide – the group's first-ever #1 at the latter format.

Codes and Keys entered the Billboard 200 at #3 upon its May 2011 release. In addition to its popular success, the album has also received critical praise from an wide array of national publications, including Spin, Rolling Stone, Blackbook, Time Out New York, Interview, Filter, the New York Times, and Entertainment Weekly, which declared the album to be “a reminder to the rest of the pretty-rock community that loveliness is worthless if there’s no heart behind it, and Death Cab’s beats stronger than most.”